WIFT Members do well at Film Awards

Posted Wednesday 11 Dec 2013

WIFT members made their presence felt at last night's film awards picking up a clutch of prizes. So congratulations to Leanne Pooley who won best documentary director last night for her Sir Edmund Hillary piece Beyond the Edge and Ngila Dickson who picked up best costume design for Mr Pip. Gardening with Soul won best documentary against some tough competition so well done Vicky Pope (and Jess Feast) for your achievement. Top of the Lake, produced by WIFT member Philippa Campbell won best Television Feature or Drama and finally a round of applause to Prisca Bouchet who (with Nick Mayow) won best self-funded short film with Le Taxidermiste. Finally a well done to Nicola Peeperkoorn, producer on Crackheads which won best self-funded film. What fantastic results for women in film and television and a great early Xmas present.

The list of WIFT nominees is below followed by the full list of winners:

Villa Maria Best Actress

Sophie Henderson - Fantail

Apex Insurance Best Screenplay

Sophie Henderson - Fantail

Nikon Best Self-Funded Film

Zoe McIntosh - The Deadly Ponies Gang

Rodney Wayne Best Costume Design

Ngila Dickson - Mr Pip

Event Cinemas Best Self-Funded Short Film

Prisca Bouchet (and Nick Mayow) - Le Taxidermiste

Telecom Business Hubs Best Documentary

Robyn Paterson, Leanne Pooley - Finding Mercy

Vicky Pope (and Jess Feast) - Gardening with Soul

Kay Ellmers (and Annie Goldson) - He Toki  Huna: NZ In Afghanistan

NZ On Air Best Television  Feature or Drama Series

The Almighty Johnsons (South Pacific Pictures are corporate members)

The Blue Rose (ditto)

Top of the Lake (Philippa Campbell producer)


Shopping was the big winner of the night at the 2013 Rialto Channel New Zealand Film Awards, taking out the esteemed awards for Best Film, Best Director and Best Screenplay.

Fresh new talents showcased in Shopping; Julian Dennison and Laura Petersen took away the Best Supporting Actor/Actress trophies. The film also won Best Poster Design and Best Cinematography - adding to Shopping's winning spree of 7 awards in total.

Mr. Pip stars took out the acting awards with Hugh Laurie winning Best Actor and Xzannjah winning Best Actress. Mr. Pip was the second most successful title of the night, also taking home the Best Score and Best Costume Design accolades.

Other winners of the night include; Best Documentary: Gardening With Soul, Best Documentary Director: Leanne Pooley for Beyond the Edge, Best Television Feature or Drama Series; Top of the LakeWhite Lies won Best Production Design and Best Makeup Design. Mount Zion was awarded the Best Sound Award.

The 'Moas' is a celebration of what has been achieved in New Zealand Film in the past year.  Event Producer Ant Timpson shares "these awards are a confirmation that we do indeed have a film industry and it's a very healthy one at that. Sure it's taken some knocks lately and of course it's not curing cancer but sometimes the films we produce resonate and stay with us for years. The winners and all the nominated films are deserving of a large audience. Sometimes it feels like we have to remind the NZ movie going public that there is more out there than spandex and explosions. It seems obvious but three-dimensional flesh and blood creations will always move us in a way that no CG creation ever could."

Roger Wyllie, General Manager of Rialto Channel says "what a fantastic night for the NZ film industry, so great to see local talent applauded and celebrated for all of their hard work and passion to ensure Kiwis enjoy a diverse range of films throughout the year.  We're very excited to be premiering a selection of these films and documentaries on Sky's Rialto Channel, and look forward to again celebrating NZ film in 2014."

Geoff Murphy, the creative genius behind iconic NZ movies; Goodbye Pork Pie, Utu and The Quiet Earth was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award.

The awards were judged by a panel of esteemed film industry leaders, including judges who have worked on such memorable films as Gravity, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Animal Kingdom, The Great Gatsby and Man of Steel to mention a few.


Rialto Channel Best Film

Shopping - Anna McLeish and Sarah Shaw

Flying Fish Best Director

Shopping - Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston

Apex Insurance Best Screenplay

Shopping - Louis Sutherland and Mark Albiston


Villa Maria Best Actor

Mr. Pip - Hugh Laurie

Villa Maria Best Actress

Mr. Pip - Xzannjah

Mili Pictures Best Supporting Actor

Shopping - Julian Dennison

Mili Best Supporting Actress

Shopping - Laura Petersen

Nikon Best Self-Funded Film

Crackheads - Tim Tsiklauri and Andy Sophocleous

Niche Cameras Best Cinematography

Shopping - Ginny Loane

Mandy Best Editor

The Weight of Elephants - Molly Marlene Stensgaard


APRA Best Score

Mr. Pip - Harry Gregson-Williams and Tim Finn

APRA Best Sound

Mt Zion - Dick Reade

Rodney Wayne Best Costume Design

Mr. Pip - Ngila Dickson

MAC Best Makeup Design

White Lies - Abby Collins, Yolanda Bartram, Vee Gulliver, Andrew Beattie, Main Reactor and Roger Murray

Regional Film Offices New Zealand Best Production Design

White Lies - Tracey Collins

Letterboxd Best Poster Design

Shopping - Geoff Francis

Event Cinemas Best Self-Funded Short Film

Le Taxidermiste - Nick Mayow and Prisca Bouchet


AUT Best Short Film

Here Be Monsters - Paul Glubb, Nic Gorman and Nadia Maxwell

Allpress Best Short Film Actor

Strongman - Tony Green


Allpress Best Short Film Actress

Blind Mice - Rachel Nicholls

PLS Best Cinematography in a Short Film

Echoes - Andrew Stroud

NZ Herald Online Best Short Film Script

Echoes - Campbell Hooper and Joel Kefali


Media Design School Best Technical Contribution to a Short Film

Blankets - Visual Effects - Frank Rueter, David Duke and Bodo Keller


Telecom Business Hubs Best Documentary

Gardening With Soul - Vicky Pope and Jess Feast

PLS Best Documentary Cinematography

Antarctica: A Year On Ice - Anthony Powell

Canon Best Documentary Director

Beyond The Edge - Leanne Pooley

Lotech Best Documentary Editor

He Toki Huna: NZ in Afghanistan - Annie Goldson and James Brown

NZ OnAir Best Television Feature or Drama Series

Top of the Lake - Jane Campion, Emile Sherman and Iain Canning


Lifetime Achievement Award

Geoff Murphy