Script Writers Awards - nominations open!

Posted Tuesday 11 Jun 2013

The NZWG are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the Script Writers Awards New Zealand, or 'SWANZ',  for 2013!  The Awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate with New Zealand's best film, television, stage, and radio scriptwriters. This initiative was created in 2010 to recognize and acknowledge the talented storytellers behind the screens and stages of New Zealand. The event will take place on 8th August in Auckland.

Categories this year include:

  • Best Feature Film Script
  • Best TV Episode Comedy Script
  • Best TV Episode Drama Script
  • Best TV One-off Drama Script
  • Best Factual Script (Film or television documentary)
  • New Writer Award (For a debut by a scriptwriter that is entered into one of the above categories)
  • Best Short Film Script
  • Best Play
  • Best Radio Play

"The idea of an event recognizing the excellence in writing that is originated by writers and the Guild is fantastic, and has a lot of support as it is different from a big awards event that covers a huge and diverse range of television and film. It is really special to have an Awards about the craft of writing, I was so rapt when the Guild created it. It's a great event where writers recognize writers."

Michael Bennett, 2011 SWANZ Winner for Best Feature Film Script.

"We believe that our stories should be shared and should be celebrated. These awards and the evening event do just that for the best in the country."

Steven Gannaway, Executive Director, NZWG.


For a nomination form please find attached or download here:  SWANZNomForm2013

For more information email: