Outlook for Someday - Free One Day Workshops

Posted Friday 10 May 2013

The Outlook for Someday presents its third annual series of free one-day sustainability film-making workshops, with the largest number of workshops ever scheduled to give more young people across New Zealand the chance to participate.

Open to students from school years 7 to 13 as well as teachers and youth workers, the workshops offer an opportunity for young people and adults to upskill together.

33 workshops are being held between May and August, including a pilot series of two M?ori-focused workshops specifically for tamariki and rangatahi M?ori, one in Auckland and the other in Wellington.

Each workshop runs from 9am to 4.30pm.

Spaces are limited to 25 participants per workshop.

Register now on The Outlook for Someday website: http://www.theoutlookforsomeday.net/workshops

Natasha Bishop, a 16 year old student and WIFT member got her break through the Outlook programme. Check out the WIFT website for more information about her latest achievements.

Workshop locations and dates are below.

Far North - Kaitaia

Tuesday 21 May           
Far North REAP

Northland - Whangarei        
Wednesday 22 May           
Northland Regional Council

Kaipara - Dargaville        
Thursday 30 May           
The Lion of Judah / Rock Solid Building

Auckland - South

Tuesday 14 May Manukau Civic Building

Auckland - North        
Thursday 16 May           
DOC Barracks, North Head Historic Reserve

Auckland - Maori Focused        
Tuesday 2 July           
Unitec Department of Performing and Screen Arts

Auckland - Central
Thursday 4 July           
Unitec Department of Performing and Screen Arts

Auckland - Waitemata
Tuesday 16 July           
Auckland Zoo
NB This workshop is for people who live, study or teach in the Waitemata Local Board area.

Auckland - Rodney        
Tuesday 6 August           
Venue TBC

Auckland - West        
Thursday 8 August           
Venue TBC

Waikato - Hamilton
Friday 7 June           
Community Waikato - Puke Rangiora House

Waikato - Taupo        
Wednesday 31 July           
Venue TBC

Coromandel - Thames        
Tuesday 9 July           
Venue TBC

Bay of Plenty - Tauranga        
Wednesday
10 July            Venue TBC

Bay of Plenty - Rotorua        
Tuesday 30 July           
Venue TBC

Gisborne        
Tuesday 30 July           
Venue TBC

Taranaki - New Plymouth        
Tuesday 18 June           
Fitzroy Surf Club

Hawkes Bay - Napier        
Thursday 1 August           
Venue TBC

Whanganui        
Wednesday 19 June           
Venue TBC

Manawatu - Palmerston North        
Tuesday 11 June           
Venue TBC

Wairarapa - Masterton        
Wednesday 12 June           
Venue TBC

Wellington
Wednesday 5 June           
Creative New Zealand - Old Public Trust Building

Wellington - Lower Hutt
Friday 7 June           
The Dowse Art Museum

Wellington - Maori Focussed        
Tuesday 9 July           
Venue TBC

Wellington - Porirua        
Wednesday 10 July           
Yes To Youth Trust

Nelson
Tuesday 6 August           
Venue TBC

Marlborough - Blenheim        
Wednesday 7 August           
Venue TBC

Canterbury - Christchurch

Tuesday 2 July           
Canterbury Horticultural Society

Canterbury - Timaru        
Wednesday 3 July           
Venue TBC

West Coast - Hokitika        
Thursday 20 June           
Venue TBC

Queenstown-Lakes - Wanaka        
Tuesday 18 June           
Lake Wanaka Centre

Otago - Dunedin        
Tuesday 11 June           
Fortune Theatre Rehearsal Room

Southland - Invercargill        
Wednesday 12 June           
Venue TBC

 

 

 

Next Up...


Short Film Ping Pong: Germany - New Zealand

Posted Friday 10 May 2013

Short Film Ping Pong - Germany - New Zealand is happening in Auckland on Thursday 16 May.

It showcases award-winning shorts from Germany and New Zealand, in response to each other. A New Zealand short replies to a German one and vice versa. In dialogue, the films produce illuminating insights into each country's cultures, styles and pre-conceptions.?? The film programme will be enriched by discussions with filmmakers, who will give first-hand information on the short film world. An exciting evening is planned, with lots to discover, lots to talk about, surprise guests and a fascinating range of films to enjoy.

Short Film Ping Pong: Germany - New Zealand is presented by Hamburg-based curator and filmmaker Stefanie Reis, in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut and New Zealand Film Commission, and supported by the Film Archive, WIFT and AUT.

The event takes place on 16 May at 7 pm at AUT, WG 403 Lecture Theatre, Auckland? and all WIFT members are warmly invited to attend.

Entry is by Koha