Lexus Short Film Series Opens for Submissions

Posted Monday 31 Aug 2015

The great thing about film is that it's so transportable - you can be sitting at your desk in Auckland editing away and hey presto you have a short that you can enter into prestigious competitions all over the world. And you don't even have to leave the editing suite let alone the country....

So it's time to get excited about the 3rd annual Lexus Short Film Series competition which is now open for submissions. UK Women in Film and Television are right behind this and so are we downunder.

Four filmmakers will be selected to write and direct a short film produced by The Weinstein Company  (yes Harvey and his mates) and participate in a tour of top film festivals around the world to promote their films. Deadline is 25 October. So what are you waiting for?

Paste this link into your browser and get that submission sorted!


Next Up...

SPADA 2015 Industry Awards Now Open for Nominations

Posted Monday 31 Aug 2015

Each year the SPADA Industry Awards recognizes excellence, hard work and creativity through its suite of three Awards.  At the end of the year, the Awards are always welcome reminders of the time and energy screen production practitioners put into their craft; as well as the support that associated businesses provide to those practitioners.

All Awards will be presented at the 2015 SPADA Conference on Thursday 12 November at the Mac's Function Centre, Wellington.

SPADA Industry Champion Award
The SPADA Industry Champion Award was created to recognise a leading industry figure who has made a major contribution to the screen industry; either through a life-long commitment or a special noteworthy action.  This may be through both contribution on screen and influence on the lives and careers of others in the industry.

Past Recipients of this Prestigious Award

Arthur Baysting, Lindsay Shelton, John Barnett, Matt Emery, Anna Cahill, Vincent Burke, John Harris, Rob Tapert, Caterina De Nave, Dave Gibson, Dick Reade, Diana Rowan, John McCrae, Michael Stedman, Mladen Ivancic and Sir Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh.

Please click on the button below for nomination details

Industry Champion Nomination Details - Click Here

2015 Independent Producer of the Year

Proudly Sponsored by Crombie Lockwood

The SPADA Independent Producer of the Year award is in its eighth year and will be

presented at this year's SPADA Conference on Thursday 12 November at the Mac's

Function Centre in Wellington.  The producer who is the recipient of this Award is one

who has made a significant contribution in the last 12 months towards the growth,

development and promotion of the independent screen production industry. 

Past Recipients Include

Elizabeth Mitchell, Phil Smith & Rachel Gardner, Melanie Rakena &

Jane Andrews, Richard Fletcher, Ainsely Gardiner & Cliff Curtis, Julie Christie, Peter Young, Catherine Fitzgerald,  Matthew Metcalfe, Chelsea Winstanley & Taika Waititi

Please click on the button below for nomination details and entry form

Ind. Producer of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here

2015 New Filmmaker of the Year

Principal Sponsor

Park Road Post Production

For 17 years SPADA's New Filmmaker of the Year Award, together with its principal

sponsor Park Road Post Production, has been identifying and acknowledging

New Zealand's emerging filmmaking talent: from Jason Stutter in 1998 to

James Napier Roberston in 2014.

As well as signalling new filmmakers to watch, it honors excellence, talent and creativity in filmmaking. The recipient of the New Filmmaker of the Year Award will receive $20,000 worth of Post-Production services from Park Road Post Production!

Know anyone deserving of this amazing Award?
Then click on the button below for nomination details and entry form.

New Filmmaker of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here