SPADA 2015 Industry Awards Now Open for Nominations

Posted Monday 31 Aug 2015

Each year the SPADA Industry Awards recognizes excellence, hard work and creativity through its suite of three Awards.  At the end of the year, the Awards are always welcome reminders of the time and energy screen production practitioners put into their craft; as well as the support that associated businesses provide to those practitioners.

All Awards will be presented at the 2015 SPADA Conference on Thursday 12 November at the Mac's Function Centre, Wellington.

SPADA Industry Champion Award
The SPADA Industry Champion Award was created to recognise a leading industry figure who has made a major contribution to the screen industry; either through a life-long commitment or a special noteworthy action.  This may be through both contribution on screen and influence on the lives and careers of others in the industry.

Past Recipients of this Prestigious Award

Arthur Baysting, Lindsay Shelton, John Barnett, Matt Emery, Anna Cahill, Vincent Burke, John Harris, Rob Tapert, Caterina De Nave, Dave Gibson, Dick Reade, Diana Rowan, John McCrae, Michael Stedman, Mladen Ivancic and Sir Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh.

Please click on the button below for nomination details

Industry Champion Nomination Details - Click Here

2015 Independent Producer of the Year

Proudly Sponsored by Crombie Lockwood

The SPADA Independent Producer of the Year award is in its eighth year and will be

presented at this year's SPADA Conference on Thursday 12 November at the Mac's

Function Centre in Wellington.  The producer who is the recipient of this Award is one

who has made a significant contribution in the last 12 months towards the growth,

development and promotion of the independent screen production industry. 

Past Recipients Include

Elizabeth Mitchell, Phil Smith & Rachel Gardner, Melanie Rakena &

Jane Andrews, Richard Fletcher, Ainsely Gardiner & Cliff Curtis, Julie Christie, Peter Young, Catherine Fitzgerald,  Matthew Metcalfe, Chelsea Winstanley & Taika Waititi

Please click on the button below for nomination details and entry form

Ind. Producer of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here

2015 New Filmmaker of the Year

Principal Sponsor

Park Road Post Production

For 17 years SPADA's New Filmmaker of the Year Award, together with its principal

sponsor Park Road Post Production, has been identifying and acknowledging

New Zealand's emerging filmmaking talent: from Jason Stutter in 1998 to

James Napier Roberston in 2014.

As well as signalling new filmmakers to watch, it honors excellence, talent and creativity in filmmaking. The recipient of the New Filmmaker of the Year Award will receive $20,000 worth of Post-Production services from Park Road Post Production!

Know anyone deserving of this amazing Award?
Then click on the button below for nomination details and entry form.

New Filmmaker of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here

Next Up...

Be part of an amazing short film...

Posted Monday 31 Aug 2015

And help take it to international festivals too. WIFT member Alana Henderson has been working on "Everyone Else is Taken" alongside some other top-notch people from NZ and Australia. They are planning to make a high class short which can be entered into festivals all over the world!

The team are looking to shoot this in the next few months, but they REALLY need your help!

As always the problem is cash: they really need to raise a bit more money to be able to take this film to the level it deserves.

Alana asks that you take two seconds to have a look at the link below where you can see more about this film.

Any donation at all helps - from $3 to $2,500. But remember every little bit adds up!

Aside from the rewards listed on the website you can be content knowing you are supporting another great example of NZ creativity and ingenuity as well as encouraging the next level of talented artists.

Contact Alana Henderson on: 027 384 2513