WIFT Members Take Tahiti

Posted Tuesday 29 Mar 2016

Though we are a little late with this it is a celebration not to be missed.  WIFT NZ members had a magnificent presence at this year's FIFO festival.

Julia Parnell was on the judging panel and wins went to Miriam Smith, Christina Milligan, Lala Rolls, and Paula Jones for Hip-Hoperation

It must have been quite a party in Tahiti!!

The judging panel was chaired by the Mauritanian director  Abderrahmane Sissako, director of Timbuktu.

Jury awards went to The Ground We Won (producer Miriam Smith), The Price of Peace (producer Christina Milligan) and Tupaia (prod/director Lala Rolls). Hip-Hoperation won the audience award. All four NZ titles named in the feature competition came away with an award.

Grand Prize went to Another Country, directed by Australian woman Molly Reynolds. (yay!)

In all NZ films took four of the seven prizes on offer at FIFO.

Well done to all our award winners - we look forward to more success next year!