NZWG announce the WINNERS in the seventh annual SWANZ & USC

Posted Tuesday 27 Sep 2016

And what does SWANZ and USC stand for? Script Writer Awards NZ & Unproduced Script Competition and our very own WIFT members Leanne Pooley and the gorgeous Shoshana McCallum feature. When Shoshana isn't emailing the members she is being fabulous at her other job - writing award-winning scripts! We celebrate with you!

NZWG awarded writers in nine categories at the 2016 SWANZ Awards ceremony at The Classic, with hosts WIFT member Jackie van Beek and Jesse Griffin going at a fun and furious pace entertaining a lively audience.??Thank you to our incredible sponsors NZ on Air, New Zealand Film Commission, South Pacific Pictures and Filthy Productions for making the SWANZ a platform to celebrate and recognise New Zealand Writers.

SWANZ Awards

South Pacific Pictures - Best Feature Film Hunt for the Wilderpeople, Taika Waititi

Best Short Film Every Moment, Gabriel Reid

Best Play The Quiet Room, Renee Liang

Best Episode TV Series - Comedy Step Dave Series 2, Episode 3, WIFT member Shoshana McCallum??Best Episode TV Series - Drama Westside Series 2, Episode 1, James Griffin? ?Best Factual Script - Film or TV Documentary 25 April, WIFT member Leanne Pooley and Tim Woodhouse

Unproduced Script Competition (USC)

USC - TV Pilot Firebug, David Mamea??USC - TV Pilot - Highly Commended Best Friend Ever, Allan George?Wanted Men, Fiona Samuel

USC - Feature Film The Floating World, Jacqueline Owens

Full list of nominees found here - SWANZ