SPADA Awards Season

Posted Tuesday 13 Sep 2016

There are quite a few to think about - see below...

1) Proudly Sponsored by Crombie Lockwood

SPADA is now in its 13th year of presenting this prestigous award! It has been won by 8 women and 7 men - so the gloves are off - anything could happen. Get your nomination in!

The SPADA Independent Producer of the Year Award is the only Award in the suite of SPADA Screen Industry Awards that is exclusive to SPADA members.  This award was established in 2004 - with the inaugural award being presented to Trevor Haysom of T.H.E. Films.  

In the ensuing years this Award has continued to acknowledge and recognize the work of New Zealand producers who have made a significant contribution towards the growth, development and promotion of the independent
screen production industry.

SPADA Independent Producer of the Year Award Alumni

2004 Trevor Haysom
2005 Elizabeth Mitchell
2006 Julie Christie
2007 Phil Smith/Rachel Gardner
2008 Melanie Rakena/Jane Andrews
2009 Richard Fletcher
2010 Ainsley Gardiner/Cliff Curtis
2011 Catherine Fitzgerald
2012 Peter Young
2013 Matthew Metcalfe
2014 Taika Waititi/Chelsea Winstanley
2015 Philly de Lacey

Please click on the button below for nomination details and entry form.

Ind. Producer of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here


2) SPADA Industry Champion Award

The SPADA Industry Champion Award was created to recognise a leading industry figure who has made a major contribution to the screen industry; either through a life-long commitment or a special noteworthy action.  This may be through both contribution on screen and influence on the lives and careers of others in the industry.

Past Recipients of this Prestigious Award include

Arthur Baysting, Lindsay Shelton, John Barnett, Matt Emery, Anna Cahill, Vincent Burke, John Harris, Rob Tapert, Caterina De Nave, Dave Gibson, Dick Reade, Diana Rowan, John McCrae, Michael Stedman,
Mladen Ivancic and Sir Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh.


SPADA Industry Champion of the Year Entry Form - Click Here


3) SPADA New Filmmaker of the Year Award

Principal Sponsor
Park Road Post Production

For 18 years SPADA's New Filmmaker of the Year Award, together with its principal sponsor Park Road Post Production, has identified and acknowledged New Zealand's emerging filmmaking talent from

Jason Stutter in 1998 to Alyx Duncan in 2015.

As well as signalling new filmmakers to watch, it honours excellence, talent and creativity in filmmaking. The recipient of the New Filmmaker of the Year Award receives $20,000 worth of Post-Production services from Park Road Post Production.

New Filmmaker of the Year Entry Form and Details - Click Here