WIFT NZ Awards 2018 finalists announced

Posted Wednesday 31 Jan 2018


We had 195 people take time out to make 300 nominations for the 2018 WIFT Awards! We thank you all for taking time and making the effort to contribute to the success of the Awards. The judges spent nine hours discussing each nominee carefully, but in the end there were only 27 names that could go forward. HOWEVER, many of the nominations were just so close. We urge you to keep your nominations in mind, and maybe keep the copy so you can use it again next time! Many of the nominees are likely finalists in 2020.

The winners will be announced at our sparkling Awards party on 1 March in the wonderful new ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland. There will be some sweet surprises on offer, so make the most of your chance to get your glad rags on and party on down, while celebrating women in the screen industry.

For those of you wondering where Waru is, unfortunately it fell out of the required time period for release by 30 June 2017. The w?hine involved will all be eligible next Awards and by then we are sure there will be an even bigger story to tell the judges about Waru's success! Make a diary note now so you don't forget to nominate them next time around!

Buy your tickets to the best party of the year >>

Meanwhile the finalists for the WIFT NZ Awards 2018 are to be celebrated! Here they are:

Fulcrum Media Finance Woman to Watch Award
Briar March
Casey Zilbert
Nicola Peeperkorn

Images & Sound Award for Success in Television
Donna Malane and Paula Boock
Julia Parnell
Kate McDermott
Maxine Fleming

Imagezone Entrepreneurship Award
Aliesha Staples - Staples VR
Libby Hakaraia - M?oriland Charitable Trust
Sharon Menzies - Fulcrum Media Finance

Professional Lighting Services Award for Unsung Heroine of the NZ Screen Industry
Esther Cahill-Chiaroni
Louise Baker
Nerida Cath

The Queenstown Camera Company Craft Award*
Dayna Grant - Stunt Woman
Ginny Loane - DOP
Kirsten Green - 1st Assistant Camera

South Pacific Pictures Award for Achievement in Film
Kirsty Cameron for "Jean" and "The Rehearsal"
Miranda Harcourt for "Lion"
Zoe McIntosh for "The World in Your Window"

Te Puni K?kiri Te Reo M?ori Champion Award
Maramena Roderick
Tweedie Waititi
Wena Harawira

The Weta Group Creative Technology Award*
Amy Barber - Sound Designer
Clare Burlinson - Colourist
Irena Dol - Editor

The judges determined that there should be only one finalist and winner, to be announced at the Awards ceremony, for the following category:
Great Southern Film & Television Award for Outstanding Contribution to the New
Zealand Screen Industry

*The Queenstown Camera Company Craft Award and The Weta Group Creative Technology Award are both new this year and celebrate the increased numbers of women working in the technical specialities.