Mental Health Services Media Awards submissions now open

Posted Monday 26 Mar 2018

We encourage members who have produced work involving mental health issues, to enter the 2018 TheMHS Media Awards. The Awards recognise excellence and accuracy of media coverage about mental health, and are awarded in three categories: Text Journalism, Sound/Vision Journalism, and Special Media Journalism.
The Sound/Vision Journalism Award is for a programme, programme segment or series of programmes or segments relating to mental health or mental illness (including television drama). The entry must be broadcast either on radio, TV or online.
Winners will receive financial support to attend the 2018 TheMHS Conference in Adelaide on 29 August, including travel, accommodation and a complimentary 3-day conference registration.

Click here for more information >>

Media Awards entries close: 26 April, 2018



Next Up...

Surviving working motherhood: high profile media mum to share her story

Posted Monday 26 Mar 2018

If you're holding down a career and kids (haha!), here's your chance to explore some different perspectives on working mothers. Thanks to our PM's surprise baby news, the issue of working mothers is very much in the public domain, and capitalising on that is women's networking organisation, Professionelle. The charitable organisation is holding a series of panel discussions and interactive seminars featuring some well-known working mums including TVNZ and NZME broadcaster Toni Street.

There are three events lined up, all taking place in the ASB Cube, Auckland.

  • April 24 - The Mum's Perspective, a panel discussion featuring Toni Street, Chief District Court Judge, Her Honour Jan-Marie Doogue and Air New Zealand's Chief of People, Jodie King.
  • June 12 - The Struggle of the Juggle, an interactive seminar
  • September 12 - The Employer's Perspective, a panel discussion

Click here for all event and ticketing details >>