DEGNZ women filmmakers incubator 2019 applications open

Posted Thursday 14 Feb 2019

Emerging directors, be empowered with knowledge, connections and confidence at the DEGNZ Women Filmmakers' Incubator! This Incubator is intended mainly for emerging debut directors of feature film (drama or documentary), but will also consider you if you're trying to establish a career in TV drama and scripted content. You'll need to apply with a project, but bear in mind the Incubator is focused on filmmaker development, not project development.

The objectives of the Incubator are to:
� Improve writers' and/or directors' understanding of the business of film and television drama.
� Increase the number of women directing features and TV drama.
� Connect producers, broadcasters and funders with female directors with a view to getting more female-centric stories into and through development.
� Create networking opportunities for women directors to further their projects and careers.
� Inspire and encourage women directors to passionately pursue feature film and drama directing careers through interaction with successful women who serve as role models. The Incubator comprises five one-day workshops in Auckland across an approximate 12-month period with the first scheduled to take place in March 2019.

The deadline to apply is 4pm Sunday 24 March, 2019.


The DEGNZ Women Filmmakers Incubator 2018


Next Up...

Vai to open at Maoriland Film Festival

Posted Thursday 14 Feb 2019

Here's another fabulous reason to attend the M?oriland Film Festival in ?taki in March: the portmanteau film Vai will open MFF19 in the film's Southern Hemisphere premiere. By the way ... our apologies to Marina Alofagia McCartney and Matasila Freshwater, whose names we missed in the last eNews item about Vai, Both Marina and Matasila are writers and directors of the film, which will also feature in the Berlinale 2019 and the SXSW Festival. Congratulations to you both!

Vai is directed by nine Pacific Island filmmakers and filmed in seven different Pacific countries: Fiji, Tonga, Solomon Islands, Kuki A?rani (Cook Islands), Samoa, Niue and Aotearoa.

Click here for more information on MFF19