Wonderful WIFT Award winners

Posted Wednesday 09 Dec 2020

We celebrated the 2020 WIFT Awards on Thursday night (we might have mentioned it once or twice!) and it really was a fabulous celebration of women in the industry! 

Our MC Antonia Prebble did a wonderful job and was well-supported by Shoshana McCallum. The evening's 'surprise' was Hollie Smith who sent chills down our collective spines singing Bathe In The River, and DJ Nicola Tims sustained the party vibes with great music.

Below is the list of our wonderful winners. Congratulations to you all!

SAE Award for Outstanding Newcomer

Presented by Dr Suzette Major, Director SAE Institute, and Dr Julia Reynolds, Head of Screen Production, SAE Institute to Kayleighsha Wharton for her uncompromising professionalism as a production and location manager, and the incredible humanity and care she brings to her job.

South Pacific Pictures Award for Achievement in Film

Presented by Kelly Martin, CEO, South Pacific Pictures to Pietra Brettkelly - for creating unique, intimate, beautiful cinematic works that open a window into another world.

Imagezone Entrepreneurship Award

Presented by Fiona Thomas, Imagezone General Manager, and Dean Thomas, Company Director to Sharon Menzies - for her savvy and successful work in film financing, and her tireless contribution to the screen industry.

Images & Sound Award for Success in Television and Digital

Presented by Narelle Ahrens, Foley Artist at Images and Sound to Annabelle Lee-Mather for her powerful work crafting and sharing award-winning indigenous stories and perspectives.

Professional Lighting Services Award for Unsung Heroine of the New Zealand Screen Industry

Presented by Ruthe Kenderdine, General Manager, Professional Lighting Services to Louise Baker - for her humility, passion, and meticulous hard work in many different industry roles over the past 37 years.

Fulcrum Media Finance Woman to Watch Award

Presented by Patricia Watson, representing Sharon Menzies, Managing Director, Fulcrum Media Finance to Hweiling Ow - for hitting the big league in the horror genre and her continued success developing projects as a writer, director, and producer.

Te Māngai Pāho Te Reo Māori Champion Award

Presented by Blake Ihimaera, Head of Content, Te Māngai Pāho to Stacey Morrison - for her outstanding work promoting te reo Māori as a broadcaster, performer, teacher, and author.

The Queenstown Camera Company Craft Award

Presented by Brett Mills, Managing Director, The Queenstown Camera Company to Bindy Crayford - for her pioneering spirit and incredible capability and ingenuity as a gaffer, and for being an inspiring mentor to other technicians.

The Weta Group Creative Technology Award

Presented by Poppy O'Dowd, client liaison, Wingnut Films to Amy Barber - for her inspiring standard of work and, through her company Bespoke Post, for helping change how international sound supervisors see New Zealand.

Great Southern Film & Television Award for Outstanding Contribution to the New Zealand Screen Industry

Presented by Phil Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Great Southern Film & Television to Kelly Martin - from commissioning and programming to running the country's biggest production company while being an active member of industry boards, Kelly Martin has been a longstanding champion of New Zealand-made content and a force for change on gender representation in the screen industry.