In case you missed the WIFT Awards winners...

Posted Saturday 09 Jul 2022

In case you missed the WIFT Awards winners...

For those who may have missed the announcements, here are the recipients for the 11 award categories of the WIFT NZ Awards 2022, held Friday 8 July at the ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland. 

SAE Award for Outstanding Newcomer
Presented by Dr Suzette Major, Director SAE Institute, and Dr Maria Walls, Academic Manager, SAE Institute
To Cian Elyse White (Te Arawa, Ngāti Pikiao) for creating a variety of outstanding work as a writer, director, producer and actor.

Fulcrum Media Finance Woman to Watch Award
Presented by Sharon Menzies, Managing Director, Fulcrum Media Finance
To Shoshana McCallum for winning an International Emmy Award and her ongoing
work creating and writing genre-smashing narratives.

South Pacific Pictures Award for Achievement in Film
Presented by Sally Campbell, Producer, South Pacific Pictures
To Chelsea Winstanley (Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi te Rangi) for her work as producer on
the internationally successful feature film Jojo Rabbit.

Imagezone Entrepreneurship Award
Presented by Jaala Smith, Imagezone Operations Manager, and Dean Thomas, Company Director
To Aliesha Staples, a pioneer of emerging digital media and co-founder of Click Studios, bringing together creative companies.

Images & Sound Award for Success in Television and Digital
Presented by Narelle Ahrens, Foley Artist at Images and Sound
To Rose Matafeo for her international triumphs creating, writing and performing in Starstruck and Horndog.

Professional Lighting Services Award for Unsung Heroine of the New Zealand Screen Industry
Presented by Julia Rutherford, Hire Manager, Professional Lighting Services
To Dianne Moffatt for consistent excellence as a script supervisor and her industry support through Covid.

Queenstown Camera Company Craft Award
Presented by Brett Mills, Managing Director, Queenstown Camera Company
To Melissa Ririnui (Tauranga Moana) for her expertise as a grip, creating a seamless experience for the camera and lighting departments.

Wingnut and Wētā Companies Creative Technology Award
Presented by Katie Williams, Talent & Culture Director, Wētā FX
To Alana Cotton for so beautifully combining her technical and artistic skills to produce gold-standard work as a colourist.

Te Māngai Pāho Te Reo Māori Champion Award
Presented by Blake Ihimaera, Head of Content, Te Māngai Pāho
To Reikura Kahi (Waikato, Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou, Whānau a Apanui and Cook Island), a skilled and passionate te reo Māori advocate and storyteller.

Tautai Award for Moana Excellence in the Screen Industry
Presented by Mile Fane, Programmes Manager, Tautai
To Sima Urale, director, writer and educator who blazes a trail for Pasifika filmmakers globally.

Great Southern Film & Television Award for Outstanding Contribution to the New
Zealand Screen Industry
Presented by Lauren Tennant, Chief Operating Officer, Great Southern Film & Television
To Dr Shuchi Kothari for her incredible work as a filmmaker, educator, mentor and voice for Pan-Asian communities.

Image: Dr Shuchi Kothari

Photo Credit: Norrie Montgomery