Enter the One World Media Awards

Posted Monday 16 Jan 2023

Enter the One World Media Awards

If you're a filmmaker or journalist whose stories break down prejudice and connect cultures, these Awards are for you! The Awards recognise the best media coverage of the global south, which includes Oceania, Australia and New Zealand. 

Jurors will be looking for media that covers underreported stories or new angles and approaches to more familiar stories.

All entries should focus on stories, topics or issues in, about or related to low- and middle-income countries.

*There is a fee to enter the Awards except the Special Award category, which is free. But discounts are available.

Entries must have had their first screening, broadcast, theatrical release, launch or publication between 11 February 2022 and 9 February 2023.

With the exception of the Special Award and Student Award, all categories are open to entrants anywhere in the world, as long as the work meets one of the following criteria:

  • the entry has been broadcast, screened or published (in print or in an established online publication/website) in the UK; OR
  • the entry has been broadcast or published (in an established print/online publication/website) internationally and is available for an English-speaking audience; OR
  • the entry has been screened at an international film festival.

Entries close 9 February 2023.

Applications will be accepted in 15 non-fiction categories with specific Awards for environmental impact, women’s solutions reporting and refugee reporting. 

The Award categories are:

Digital Media Award

Environmental Impact Award

Feature Documentary Award

International Journalist of the Year Award

News Award

New Voice Award

Popular Features

Print Award

Podcast & Radio Award

Refugee Reporting Award

Short Film Award

Special Award (this category is free to enter)

Student Award

Television Documentary Award

Women’s Solutions Reporting Award

Click here for more information 

Click here for eligibility